Skip to content

United Prairie Bank

United Prairie Bank

Banks & Credit UnionsFinance & Insurance

About Us

United Prairie has its roots in rural Minnesota. The organization started to take shape in 1973 when former President, James G. Sneer, bought Farmers State Bank of Mountain Lake, Minnesota. That original bank charter began in the year 1919. The bank was run with a strong emphasis in superior customer service, financial integrity and community involvement.

Some years later, Mr. Sneer began to acquire other banks in towns around in the region, bringing the strong values and business practices that brought early success. In some cases, failing banks were rescued and resuscitated to once again become strong promoters of their local economies. In 1992, the banks owned by Mr. Sneer were changed to the now-familiar United Prairie Bank.

In 2002, Stuart J. Sneer, the son of James and Susan Sneer, took over the presidency of the company after many years of individual bank management and system management as vice president. Today, the third generation of the Sneer family is involved in roles within the company.

Over the years, United Prairie began to build its resources for its customers as well offering those services across its footprint. Currently, the company has 10 locations in communities across Minnesota. Company headquarters are in Mankato, Minnesota.


Gallery Image Choose%20Local%20Bank.jpg
Gallery Image Financial%20Independence.jpg
Gallery Image Remote%20Deposit.jpg
Gallery Image UPB%20Mobile%20App.jpg
Gallery Image Zelle%20Software.jpg
Gallery Image Estatements.jpg
Gallery Image Checking%20Acct%20Basics.jpg

Rep/Contact Info

Mary Loftus
Cash Management Sales Officer

Scroll To Top